All about Australia Skilled Migration

All about Australia Skilled Migration. The Australian subcontinent is constantly booming with new employment opportunities. Foreign qualified skilled workers migrating to Australia for employment have significantly benefited from this and enjoy a good standard of living. Even professionally, Australia offers a plethora of opportunities for individuals to scale their professional graph. Australia has therefore been very welcoming to qualified Immigrants each year.

Immigration to Australia has a different concept from Canadian Immigration. While Australia also welcomes skilled immigrants, they ensure that only those individuals are eligible who belong to a profession that is in demand in Australia. Therefore, if your skills and qualification are recognized and required in the country, applicants can instantly qualify.

Australia’s Skilled Migration System is further categorized into regional, state and federal. Certain factors determine the eligibility criteria for there categories. There are three visa subclasses designated for each type. Depending on the region or states labour market requirements for the occupation, the eligibility criteria is set. Let’s further analyze the subclass system under Skilled Migration.

Skilled Independent Visa – Subclass 189

This is the Permanent Residence visa subclass of Australia Immigration. Qualifying candidates are entitled to direct permanent residence in Australia without any conditions attached to the visa.

Skilled Nominated Visa – Subclass 190

This visa subclass falls under the branch of State migration.  Although it falls under the system of Permanent Residency, candidates are required to work in the nominated state for a period of 2 years.

Skilled Regional (Provisional) Visa – Subclass 489

This is the Regional Migration category of Australian Skilled Migration. Selected candidates must work in the designated region or low populated metropolitan area in Australia for at least four years. They are further eligible to apply for Permanent Residency.

There are three pathways to this visa sub-type:

– The Extended Pathway
– The Invited Pathway
– The subsequent entry pathway


The Australia and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations (ANZSCO) code is the system for the occupational classification in Australia. Every occupation has a designated ANZSCO code that illustrates a very vital role in the eligibility spectrum of Australia Immigration. The ANZSCO code list lays down the qualifying criteria, eligible nominations and sponsorship.

This codified system is the Australian Government’s initiative to understand the qualifying category of Immigrants desirous of migrating to Australia. Although it is simplified for a layman to understand, it is imperative and advised to speak to an Immigration expert to analyze this thoroughly. Start your Australian Immigration journey by speaking to our Immigration advisors who will guide you on proceeding to the next step.

Head to the free assessment section, fill out the form and we will be in touch. Thank you.